Find Local Events (pick a date)
 
Browse Boulder real estate by neighborhood, school and zip code along with other homes for sale in Colorado on COhomefinder.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Home / Articles / Info / Info /  Climb up, ski down
. . . . . . .
Give Through iGivefirst
Thursday, January 9,2014

Climb up, ski down


You don’t have to climb Denali to enjoy getting a taste of what ski mountaineering is all about. Colorado has many easy-to-climb, easy-to-ski peaks, as well as some extremely serious terrain that provides hardmen like Bettner ideal training grounds for Denali and other big peaks. Local classics include the Dead Dog Coulior, a wonderful from-the-top line off of 14,275-foot Torreys Peak, an easy objective from Boulder and a great line when skiing your first 14er.

And, with a new generation of lighter, easier-to-use equipment, it’s easier than ever to get into the sport.

That being said, a little education can go a long way. Check out these Boulder resources:

• The Colorado Mountain School offers a full line of ski mountaineering courses, including introductory sessions. They also teach courses in avalanche safety and rescue and ice climbing, skills you’ll need for bigger descents: coloradomountainschool.com • The Colorado Mountain Club has a Boulder chapter that offers a good mix of social opportunities (group ski tours, hikes, etc.) along with courses to hone your skills. Check out their mountaineering and backcountry skiing offerings at cmcboulder.org.

• The American Mountain Guide Association offers courses for those who want to go a bit farther and start to guide or lead trips. Their intense training programs are a must for guiding professionals.

You can learn more at amga.com.

  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
POST A COMMENT
No Registration Required
REPLY TO THIS COMMENT

Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
Packers and Movers in Delhi @ http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/

 

REPLY TO THIS COMMENT

Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
Packers and Movers Faridabad @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/
Packers and Movers Ghaziabad @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
Packers and Movers India @ http://list5th.in/
Packers and Movers India @ http://www.export5th.in/

 

 

Also in Info:

Close
Close