Lafayette election results


Christine Berg, Steve Kracha, Staci Lupberger, Alexandra Lynch, Pete d’Oronzio and Brad
Wiesley are the winners of the six seats on Lafayette City Council, according to unofficial results.

Newcomers Berg, Lynch and Wiesley and incumbent Lupberger are drawing the greatest share of the vote.

“It’s very exciting,” Berg says. She ran a field campaign
that included knocking on about 2,000 doors, taking the lead in the field with 16.13 percent of the vote. 

Berg has worked as community outreach manager for the office
of Congressman Jared Polis and is a member of Lafayette’s historic preservation

Lupberger, a
project manager and a former small business owner, was elected to city council
in 2009 and has been an advocate for small businesses and economic development
in Lafayette.

“I’m happy with the results,” says Lupberger. With six seats
available for three three-year terms and three four-year terms is making for an
interesting night for all seven candidates.

“It’s exciting for everyone,” she says.

Berg, Lupberger and many of the other candidates spent the evening watching results from the
Cannon Mine Coffee Shop in downtown Lafayette.

“You know what’s wonderful, all the candidates for the most
part are here, and there’s a local band playing, it’s just very much a
community event,” Berg says. “There’s folks from all parts of Lafayette here
and they’re excited to have a new council.”

Other winners, according to early returns, are retired
police commander Wiesley, Safehouse Progressive Alliance for Nonviolence development
director Lynch, and incumbent city council appointees Kracha and d’Oronzio, who
both had prior experience on the planning commission.

I’m excited to see the election results,” Wiesley says. “I’m looking forward to the challenges ahead and getting to work with the other
council people that have been elected to see where we can take Lafayette in the

Rosabelle Rice, who
has served on Lafayette’s Latino Advisory Board, does not appear to have drawn
enough votes to win a seat on the city council.